Happy Easter!

Happy Easter everyone!

First of all I thought I’d share the crab I bought last week, I wish I could say ‘catch’, but that would be a lie.

My crab

Isn’t he/she a beauty?

I got a decent amount of crab meat out of it, although my thumb is still healing after I managed to cut it with a blunt knife, yes, not any old knife, but a common or garden dinner knife – it was quite impressive even if I do say so myself, although I’ll spare you the pictures of that one.

Here is a crab recipe too, if this has inspired you….

Crab linguine with chilli, lemon, garlic and parsley.

Serves 4

Ready in 30 minutes

Per serving:
626kcals
23.5g fat (3.2g saturated)
24.9g protein
84g carbs
4.2g sugar
0.6g salt

Ingredients
100ml olive oil
1 medium-hot red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped
1 fat garlic clove, finely chopped
3 pared strips of lemon zest, finely chopped
450g linguine
2 tbsp lemon juice, plus lemon wedges to serve
225g freshly cooked white crab meat
2 tbsp chopped fresh flatleaf parsley

Method
1. Put the olive oil, chilli, garlic and lemon zest into a small pan and put over a gentle heat until it begins to sizzle. Remove from the heat and set aside.
2. Bring a large saucepan of well-salted water to the boil. Add the linguine and cook for 8-9 minutes, or until al dente. Drain well and set aside.
3. Tip the chilli and lemon mixture into the pan the pasta was in, then add the lemon juice and season. Heat until sizzling, then add the linguine and crab meat to the pan and toss gently over a medium heat to warm the crab through.
Add the parsley, season, and serve immediately with lemon wedges. Yum!

Leave a Reply

